what's the deal?

So today is like International Women’s Day or whatever, which sounds like maybe the most idiotic fake holiday I have ever heard. Is it supposed to be some kind of weak joke that International Women’s Day is on Fat Tuesday? I mean really. What’s the deal with that?

And to continue in the vein of the Jerry Seinfeld model, can I just ask what the deal is with Rihanna and her new and sudden penchant for S&M? Have you guys heard this song? And is anyone else bothered by the fact that after the very well-publicized incident where Chris Brown, you know, beat the shit out of her, Rihanna is now singing a song about how she likes violent sex? I mean, I thought the song with Eminem was bad enough- it seemed to be in pretty poor taste that Rihanna was singing “That’s alright, because I like the way it hurts…” not so long after that whole deal with Chris Brown, but now that she’s singing “Sticks and stones may break my bones but chains and whips excite me…” it seems that some new things may be coming to light about her relationship with Chris…

I mean, to each their own. I may or may not be wearing the key to a pair of handcuffs around my neck right now, but that’s beside the point.

And by the way, I realize that I’ve been neglecting this blog. Like a lot. And I feel really bad about that, but for the past few weeks I’ve been at a total and complete loss about what to write about. It’s mostly the same hangups I’ve always had about writing this blog, coupled with the fact that I’m still as lazy and unmotivated as ever. But the truth is also that in the few weeks since my last post, I’ve finally started feeling like myself again. I’m not entirely sure what that means or what has brought it about, but all I know is that I feel like a weight has been lifted- like I am finally free to no longer be the sad, mopey, heartbroken, defeated wreck of a person that I’ve felt like for pretty much the past seven months. Things like graduating and leaving all my friends and breaking up with my boyfriend and moving back in with my mom and not being able to find a job that even remotely puts my outrageously overpriced college degree to use were really getting me down for a while. Lately, I’ve finally started to come out of the slump, which is a huge relief because I was a little worried there for a while. But in the midst of this transition, I just didn’t feel like it was right to exploit my own emotions by forcing them into a blog post, and I couldn’t come up with anything else that felt relevant or inspirational enough to write about, so the blog was neglected.

My dear friend Trey, whom I often affectionately refer to as “TREY BAY-BAY” and who is a very serviceable stand-in for the little brother that I never had, has convinced me that I need to bring my blog back to life, and in doing so, that I need to get over my hangups about being a “sassy girl blogger” and write about my life essentially without discretion. I’m going to do my best to start doing that, but it’s really hard for me to write about my life without letting the blog get too near to the things and people that would inevitably pop up in it. The bottom line is that I don’t want to write in poor taste about anyone or anything in my life, and there is a fine line between being an honest, sassy girl blogger and being some bitch who talks shit on her blog.

Like it may be of interest to mention the fact that the handcuff-key necklace has a lot to do with why I’ve recently started to feel a lot less mopey and heartbroken, but it’s hard for me to write about that sort of thing without sending the message that I am a) spitefully trying to make my ex boyfriend jealous, or b) trying to make my new non-boyfriend feel extremely awkward, or maybe c) managing to pull off both at the same time while also making everyone who is reading this blog feel extremely awkward wondering why in God’s name I have the key to a pair of handcuffs around my neck.

Just don’t worry about it.

Celebrate International Women’s Day by snooping around this awesome blog called Off Our Chests where women and girls express & expose themselves

and by NOT watching Two and a Half Men or any other piss-poor excuses for comedies starring woman-haters like Charlie Sheen

and by listening to Rihanna AND Chris Brown and whatever other pop songs are your shameless guilty pleasures, because that’s surely one of mine.

2 thoughts on “what's the deal?

  1. “So today is like International Women’s Day or whatever, which sounds like maybe the most idiotic fake holiday I have ever heard. Is it supposed to be some kind of weak joke that International Women’s Day is on Fat Tuesday? I mean really. What’s the deal with that?”

    LOL. I’m so glad you read and follow Off Our Chests!! You should submit something!! The whole Rihanna part was really interesting and dead-on.

    • I’m glad you liked my two-cent rant about Rihanna. I love the girl, but damn.
      I definitely plan to submit something to Off Our Chests, and I’m not gonna lie the reason I started following it was because you plugged it on your blog. So thanks!

Leave a Reply

